Need Nerd Sniping Ammo

I weave in public and try to connect people and interests that may overlap or complement each other. Spritely is among many initiatives I follow and make other people aware of. However, I am not an expert on the topics of the topics of discussion right now. My own interest is as an eventual end-user.

That poses a problem. I lack the time to deep-dive and become expert enough to give a brief enough accurate summary to trigger excitement with other experts and nerd snipe them to check out Spritely in detail. These experts are time-constrained same as experts here are, and only TL;DR new subject areas in the vast seas of IT information.

Passing information around, such as links to Heart of Spritely Paper, presentation recordings, etc. isnā€™t working.

Example: Trying to interest Freenet for Spritely

Freenet is building Locutus. I name-dropped Spritely on chat ā€œDid you consider what OCaps can do for you?ā€ā€¦

Reaction by active contributor (the typical 5 sec. 1st impression hunch):

seems like some kinda programming model
Promise Pipelining but not that interesting tbh

Reaction by creator of Freenet, Ian Clarke:

Sounds similar to how permissions work in OO software, a function can only act on the parameters passed to it. With Locutus, capabilities are specified through cryptography - so a delegateā€™s capabilities are determined by what private keys it knows - potentially very granular.

And they move on with other thingsā€¦

Update 2023-06-05: Since posting I learned the controversial background of Ianā€™s Locutus project, and withdrew myself, deleted Spritely-related comments in Locutus GH discussion. The example is still relevant otherwise.